San Diego

My old roommate and close friend, Kanya moved to San Diego recently. I went to visit her with my friend, Carl in March of 2016 for 4 days.

Day 1

We got there on a Saturday afternoon. Kanya lives near downtown San Diego and has a beautiful view of the skyline. After we got settled in, we walked to the Gaslamp Quarter. It’s a district in downtown San Diego. It has restaurants, shopping, and night life. We stopped at a bar called Tipsy Crow to have Cali Creamin beer and grilled cheese. For your information, it was the best grilled cheese I had in my life. At night we had an amazing dinner at Banker’s Hill and I ordered short ribs and a cocktail. It was nice catching up with my friends and being on vacation.

Day 2

For day 2, Cafe 222 was on the list for brunch. I ordered the Peanut butter banana French toast. Bobby Flay said it was the best French toast he ever had. I had to ordered it and it did not disappoint. Since it started to rain, we were only able to drive by Old Town San Diego. A state historic park. When it stopped raining we walked around South Mission Beach. We a took a variety of pictures and I was happy to be at the beach again. The next beach we went to was La Jolla. They both were beautiful beaches but had a different feel to them. La Jolla felt more upscale while south mission beach seemed more casual. For dinner we ate at Lucha Libre Taco shop. The host of Man vs. food, Adam Richman had a meal there. The burrito was delicious and the ambivalence of the restaurant was memorable. We ended the night relaxing at Kanya’s apartment.

Day 3

We went to Hillcrest for brunch, Hillcrest is north of downtown San Diego and is known as San Diego’s LGBT central hub. It has variety of bars, restaurants, coffee houses, and boutiques. The restaurant we went to had a breakfast buffet. I got as much food as I could. After brunch, we walked around Hillcrest and enjoyed the weather. In the afternoon, we went to south park neighborhood for barhopping and beers. The bars in San Diego are so clean, even dive bars. I love it! One of the bars we went to was Hamilton Tavern and they had taps all over the ceiling. It was awesome, it brought more to the bar. We sat at the bar and had our drinks. It felt good to be in San Diego. We reserved a boat ride with Hornblower Cruises & Events to see a view of Harbor view. We sat outside on the boat and we were able to drink beers and see beautiful San Diego. It was of my favorite parts of  the trip. The last night was reserved for Ballast Point Brewery to try the Jalapeno beer. The beer was interesting and I am willing to try it again. Also, dinner and wine in Little Italy. It was memorable to try some Italian wine and have a nice dinner. I was sad it was our last night but was happy to spend it with friends.

12829529_10102504555457835_3618565621681218242_o12028902_10102491546443005_7787539846982555696_o

Day 4

Our flight was in the early afternoon. That gave Carl and I plenty of time for breakfast. We had breakfast at Breakfast Republic. They had various of options for pancakes. Yes, pancakes. We each ordered our own meals and shared pancakes. We enjoyed the breakfast and coffee and talked about the trip. After, we took an Uber back to Kanya’s apartment and got ready for our flight. I had a lot fun on the trip and was happy to see my friend’s new home. I plan on going back soon to see Kanya and enjoy more of San Diego.

 

One thought on “San Diego

Leave a Reply

