London and Paris

For New Years 2015, I reserved a trip with EF college break to London and Paris. I went by myself with a tour group. The tour was for 8 days and I got to spend equal time in each city. My New years was spent in London. The day after, I went to Paris.  I was excited to be spending New Years internationally. Especially, since England would experience it before the United States.

London:

I got to London on December 29th. during the day, I got coffee and croissants with new friends of mine (Jessica and Megan). It was just what we needed after traveling the whole day. The coffee shop had WiFi, which was great because I didn’t have an international plan. At night, our tour guide took us on a walking tour of the city.  London had many decorations on the buildings, it was cute to see the decorations light up at night. For dinner, we went to a place called, Ye Olde Cock Tavern. It was a light dinner with appetizers and drinks. I stayed later with Jessica and Megan in the tavern to have some drinks and talk. We didn’t stay out too long because we were exhausted from the travel.

The second day we got to see Big Ben and the Westminster Abbey. The shop had Christmas decorations. That’s one of the reasons I love traveling during New Year is to see Christmas decorations! It gives me a calm and happy feeling and it helps me forget about the cold. Buckingham Palace was beautiful. I love it and was one my favorites of London. 

11863421_10102219606612605_5442073178010041553_n

Harry Potter has been a favorite of mine, since middle school. I love the books and movies. Anyways, I got a ticket to see the Harry Potter Warner Bros. Studio Tour. It was kinda outside of London, it was a long subway ride but worth it. For the Harry Potter tour, you can choose the option of having a radio tell you about each section of the tour and takes about 3 hours. If you don’t choose the radio, the tour will be less than 3 hours and less informative. I went without the radio but I wish I had gotten it. The tour was Christmas themed. They decorated Hogwarts Christmas style. The dining hall was amazingly set up. They had a huge Christmas tree and costumes from the actual movie. During the middle of the tour, I was able to get a butterbeer. My favorite part of the tour was pivet drive, it looked so real.

New years was spent at a pub called The Driver. I was able to catch up with a Texas friend. He met me at the pub because he was in London at the same time. It was a blast, I had my new years headband, free drinks, and good friends (old and new). The pub had a rooftop and we gather there to see fireworks. I remember, a large group of people was gathered there and we waiting patiently and did a countdown. Then when it hit midnight, we could hear the fireworks but building’s were blocking them. It was funny because we were expecting this large show but there wasn’t one. We did get to see a couple of fireworks and that was fun. I got the pictures of the few fireworks. New Year’s 2015 was fun and unforgettable. Even with little fireworks.

Paris:

Paris felt rushed but I got to experience everything I wanted to see. As soon as I got there, I ate with my friends. The food in Paris was phenomenal, every restaurant I went to had amazing food. Even eating soup there was great, you will not be disappointed with the food there. After we ate, we took pictures outside of North Dame Cathedral. We also wanted to see the lock of love and the Eiffel tour. Both the Eiffel tower and lock of love were great to see. The Eiffel tower was light up and had sparkly lights every hour. We had fun taking pictures. The Eiffel tower lights shut off at 1 am. We had no idea and walked back to the hostel.

The next day we had a full day. There was a full list of fun things to do. Louvre museum, crepes, putting a lock on the lock of love, Paris boat ride, and head to the top of the Eiffel tower. I got a Nutella and strawberry for breakfast/lunch it was perfect. The Louvre museum, we walked around for awhile but stopped at the Mona Lisa. The area was crowded and you had to wait to really get to see her. It was a lot smaller than I thought it would be but I couldn’t believe I was looking at the painting. The Mona was in a glass case, the painting is really secure. I bought a lock to put on the lock of love. The lock I bought had 3 keys, I threw one in the water under the bridge. I kept one key and gave the other to my boyfriend. On the lock, I put Jaimie loves Stan. I’m hoping to go back with my boyfriend to throw the keys under the bridge. The Paris boat ride was nice and relaxing but I remember I started to get a bad cold and I couldn’t stop sneezing. The top of the Eiffel Tower was the last thing I did was Jessica and Megan. We waited in line for 2 hours but it went by fast. When your buying ticket, they give you the choice to go the second floor or to the top. We choose the top. We got a chance to see the second floor and it has a restaurant. The restaurant is beautiful and I am sure delicious. When we got back to the elevator, to go to the top floor, I was nervous. I’m scared of heights but once I saw that view, my fear went away. The top of the tower has a room, it’s where the creator use to gather with friends. I thought that was interesting. Now that’s a party!

img_0031

The third day was for Versailles and macaroons. Versailles is a must see when you go to Paris. I repeat, do not skip out on that.  The last dinner was sad because it was the end of our trip but the food was great. We had an appetizer, an entry, dessert, and wine. My friend, Megan is a foodie and was taking so many pictures of the food. Which I liked because it helps me remember what it looked like. After the dinner, I walked around with Megan, Jessica, Jennifer, and Josh. We sat at a coffee shop outside, drank hot chocolate, and enjoyed being in Paris.

Paris was my favorite between both cities.I loved the food, the ambiance, the language, I loved everything pretty much. There were two things in London I didn’t get to do. Abbey road and to take a picture of platform 9 3/4. That means I have to go back.  I’m so glad I went on the tour and I will remember it always.

3 thoughts on “London and Paris

  1. “Are you planning to follow a career in Magical Laws, Miss Granger?” asked Scrimgeour. “No, I’m not,” retorted Hermoine. “I’m hoping to do some good in the world!”

    This is one of my favourite lines by JK Rowling.
    can you tell which book its from? haha..I’m fangirling right now.
    You’re trip is sounds awesome and the way you’ve written it is pretty cool!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

